ROCA Award of Merit

The **Award of Merit** is bestowed upon a member of the ROCA Association who has made a meritorious contribution in any field of agricultural activity including association affairs.

Since 1961 forty six notable OLD Collegians have been honoured by the Association for meritorious and outstanding service to agriculture, the College, ROCA and the community. The Honour Board detailing past recipients is in the foyer of the main Building adjacent to the Dining Room at Roseworthy.

The Award of Merit is regarded as the highest honour ROCA can bestow on one of its members.

Rules governing the ROCA Award of Merit

- 1. The Roseworthy Old Collegians Association (ROCA) shall periodically award a medal to a ROCA member who has made a meritorious contribution to any field of agricultural activity and/or ROCA community affairs. For the purpose of these rules, "agricultural activity" shall be given the widest possible meaning and will include all aspects of animal, land and natural resource management.
- 2. The award shall be considered annually and if in the opinion of the Selection Committee, there is no candidate of sufficient merit, no award shall be made.
- 3. The nominee must be a ROCA member and the nomination shall be prepared and signed by two ROCA members. Nominations must be made on the Standard Form and must include the information required thereon.
- 4. Nominations should be accompanied by a resume detailing the nominee's career since leaving Roseworthy. This should also include details of major published papers, achievements, other qualifications, awards and honours received, and details of services to industry, community, government and ROCA focusing particularly on impact and outcomes. References from colleagues familiar with the nominee's career and achievements should be included.
- 5. Nominations with the supporting data must reach the ROCA Secretary by 30 June each year. The executive shall review the nominations and has the right to reject any nomination deemed unsuitable before submitting the nominations to the Selection Committee.

- 6. The Executive may, at its discretion, include for consideration any candidates previously nominated.
- 7. The Selection Committee shall consist of five members, one from each of the following fields:

primary production research and/or extension; public service: primary production; agricultural related industry and the President of ROCA.

- 8. The Executive shall appoint to the Selection Committee, such persons who are in their opinion of sufficient standing and experience to be competent to assess the merits of candidates from any field of agricultural activity. Membership of the selection Committee will be reviewed by the Executive each year.
- 9. The president of ROCA shall be the Convenor of the Selection Committee and shall have only a casting vote. Three members of the Committee will constitute a quorum.
- 10. In the event of a member of the Executive or the Selection Committee being proposed a Candidate, that person will stand down from all discussions and deliberations for that year.
- 11. The Selection Committee shall make its nomination to the Executive at least four weeks prior to the date of presentation of the award.
- 12. Members of the Executive and the Selection Committee are requested to hold the names of the candidates in strict confidence.

Winners of the ROCA Award of Merit:

1961	Roland Hill OBE	1962	Dr David Riceman
1963	Len Cook	1964	William Dawkins
1965	Frank Pearson	1966	Sir Allan Callaghan
1967	Bob Herriot OBE	1968	Denis Muirhead
1969	Jack Reddin	1970	Ron Badman
1971	Prof Rex Butterfield	1972	Rex Krause
1973	Rex Kuchel	1974	Lex Walker
1975	Ken Pike	1976	Len Laffer
1977	Des Habel	1978	Henry Day AO
1979	Mark Hutton	1980	Cliff Hooper
1981	Andrew Michelmore	1982	Milton Spurling
1983	Ralph Hewett Jones	1984	David Suter
1985	Hon Dr Bruce Eastick AM	1986	Dr John Obst
1987	Robin Steed	1988	Reg French
1989	Ray Norton	1990	Tony Summers
1991	Scott Dolling	1992	Rex Anderson
1993	Bob Baker	1994	Brian Hannaford
1995	Grant Mayfield	1996	Robert Knappstein
1997	James Pocock	1998	Ian Young
1999	Don Moyle	2000	Grant Paech
2001	Brian Jefferies AM	2002	Dr Graham Mitchell AO
2003	Philip Laffer	2004	John Vickery
2005	Ronald Mertin AM	2006	Brian Wilson
2007	Wilf Bowen	2008	Philip Young AM
ROCA Centenary Medal 1999 Harry Stephen			