

Autumn 2010

Our President's View

As new arrangements for courses at Roseworthy Campus settle in, ROCA is being increasingly viewed as a valued stakeholder in the future of the Campus.

In 2009, another Roseworthy student mentored by Graeme Pope won the same award after completing her APL Placement. Following graduation, she scored her "dream job" as a pig & poultry nutritionist with Roseworthy based company, Lienert Australia.

As a Roseworthy graduate and ROCA member, Graeme Pope is actively assisting young people studying at Roseworthy to gain an initial foothold in their chosen career. These are the types of quality outcomes all agricultural industries around Australia seek.

^^^^^^

2010 ROCA Reunion Dinner & AGM

The 2010 ROCA Annual General Meeting and Reunion Dinner will be held on Friday 15 October at the Glenelg Golf Club.

A highlight of the evening will feature the grad

Roseworthy Campus and Student Fund

ROCA and Co-Patrons of The Fund acknowledge with gratitude the work of both Dr. Bruce Eastick (as Chairman) and Mr. Don Moyle, both of whom were original Co-Patrons who contributed much towards its success and who have now retired. Ray Taylor is now Co-Patrons Chairman and John Rothwell is Deputy.

Recently appointed Co-Patrons are;

Maurie Zobel, former staff member at Roseworthy lan Oliver, prominent Old Collegian from Waikerie Greg Campbell, General Manager, S. Kidman and Co

The School of Animal and Veterinary Sciences is invigorating the Roseworthy Campus

The School of Animal and Veterinary Sciences is now firmly established on the historic Roseworthy Campus.

The School is developing partnerships with veterinary practices and State Government agencies to allow co-location of facilities to enhance the exposure of students to a wide range of animal and veterinary skills and professional practice types. The South Australian

Sasha has developed a pooled testing approach by combining blood samples from several animals in a random selection of beef cattle. She is also testing bulk tank milk samples among dairy cattle.

"Testing pooled samples rather than spot tests can reduce the number of tests needed to identify the virus and, in turn, reduce the cost of testing for producers," she says. Spot tests cost in the order of \$400 (15 animals are recommended for spot testing), compared to \$24 for a one-off pooled test.

As part of her project Sasha is also looking at management practices which can increase the chances of cattle being infected with the virus. A pestivirus vaccine is available for bovine viral diarrhoea but the 2008 PIRSA survey suggested that the vaccine was not yet widely used in South Australia.

"The risk of cattle contracting the virus can be decreased by pre-purchase testing of cattle and/or vaccination," Sasha says. "Unfortunately many farmers are not aware of the vaccine or choose not to use it."

Her project is supported by PIRSA and Gribbles Veterinary Pathology and supervised by Professor Michael Reichel from the School of Animal and Veterinary Sciences at the University of Adelaide.

University Council Elections

John Radcliffe AM and Simon Maddocks (Life Member of ROCA), Alumni elected members of the Council of the University of Adelaide, have both been actively contributing to University affairs and especially on matters relating to agricultural education and agricultural research. Both have been recognized by Council appointments to Council Committees – John to the Audit, Compliance and Risk Committee and Simon to the Special Degrees Committee. In these times of change it is important that the university has input from highly knowledgeable, well informed and experienced people, especially on matters relating to ROCA interests. In this regard ROCA is most appreciative of their efforts since their appointment.

^^^^^^^^

The term of office for both John and Simon will expire in September this year. Alumni of the University of Adelaide (including all ROCA members) will have the opportunity to vote for candidates in a postal ballot anticipated early in the second half of 2010. Following the strong support from the ROCA membership in past ballots which has seen John and Simon elected, all ROCA members are encouraged to consider the ballot papers on arrival and to cast votes which will continue to see education and research in the agricultural sector given the attention and priority needed.

^^^^^^

^^^^^^^^^^^

On the ROCA web-site

Constitutional changes approved at the 2009 AGM have been incorporated. http://www.adelaide.edu.au/roca/

Lodge your e-mail address with ROCA now

If you have an email address, **PLEASE** lodge your e-mail address via the generic ROCA e-mail address: roca@alumni.adelaide.edu.au. You will then receive future newsletters and special occasional news briefs by e-mail.

The quality of past ROCA Award of Merit recipients is illustrated by the following list:

1961 Roland Hill OBE	1978 Henry Day AO	1995 Grant Mayfield
1962 David Riceman	1979 Dr Mark Hutton	1996 Bob Knappstein
1963 Len Cook	1980 Cliff Hooper	1997 Jim Pocock
1964 W J Dawkins	1981 Andrew Michelmore	1998 lan Young
1965 Frank Pearson	1982 Milton Spurling	1999 Don Moyle
1966 Sir Allan Callaghan	1983 Ralph Hewett Jones	2000 Grant Paech
1967 Bob Herriot OBE	1984 David Suter	2001 Brian Jefferies AM
1968 Denis Muirhead	1985 Hon Dr Bruce Eastick AM	2002 Dr Graham Mitchell AO
1969 Jack Reddin	1986 John Obst	2003 Philip Laffer
1970 Ron Badman	1987 Robin Steed	2004 John Vickery
1971 Prof Rex Butterfield	1988 Reg French	2005 Ronald Mertin AM
1972 Rex Krause	1989 Ray Norton	2006 Brian Rex Wilson
1973 Rex Kuchel	1990 Tony Summers	2007 Kenneth Wilfred (Wilf) Bowen
1974 Lex Walker	1991 Scott Dolling	2008 Philip John Young AM
1975 Ken Pike	1992 Rex Anderson	2009 Ian Hickinbotham OAM
1976 Len Laffer	1993 Bob Baker	
1977 Des Habel	1994 Brian Hannaford	

<u>Lodge your e-mail address for the new ROCA Digest mailing arrangements</u>

^^^^^^

If you have an email address, **PLEASE** lodge your e-mail address via the generic ROCA e-mail address: roca@alumni.adelaide.edu.au. You will then receive future newsletters and special occasional news briefs by e-mail.

112th AGM 2010 Reunion Dinner

Don't miss another memorable night. Bring your partner or guest

Friday 15th

Award of Merit Nomination Form

Nominees Information:

Name:	